Skip to Content

Magnet Recognition Program®

Magnet Recognition Logo

The following ten UPMC hospitals have received Magnet Recognition from the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC):

  • UPMC Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh
  • UPMC Community Osteopathic
  • UPMC Hamot
  • UPMC Harrisburg
  • UPMC Magee-Womens Hospital 
  • UPMC Passavant
  • UPMC Presbyterian
  • UPMC Shadyside
  • UPMC St. Margaret
  • UPMC West Shore

Only 8.9 percent of hospitals nationwide are designated Magnet®, one of the highest achievements in professional nursing.

Evaluation Process

Magnet® candidates undergo a lengthy, rigorous application and evaluation process that includes extensive interviews and review of all aspects of nursing services. To earn Magnet status, hospitals must clearly demonstrate a commitment to excellence on all levels of nursing practice and adhere to national standards for organization and delivery of nursing services.

Hospitals receiving Magnet status are recognized for building and supporting continuous cultures for nurses of transformational leadership, structural empowerment, exemplary evidence-based practice, advanced training, new knowledge application, and innovations with measurable outcomes proving quality patient care.

About Magnet Recognition

The designation is valid for four years, during which time the ANCC monitors the hospital to ensure that high patient care standards remain intact. The ANCC is the largest and most prominent nursing credentialing organization in the United States.

The Magnet Recognition Program, ANCC Magnet Recognition®, Magnet names and logos are registered trademarks of the American Nurses Credentialing Center. Journey to Magnet Excellence™ and National Magnet Conference™ are trademarks of the American Nurses Credentialing Center. All rights reserved.